cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 10

Mapping vegetarian: an insight into my list

Caption: veggie quesadillasCaption: veggie quesadillas

Hi Local Guides!

I'm writing this post mainly inspired by my new "lifestyle": I have recently become a vegetarian. As I am still a newbie in the topic and learning about it, I thought that maybe putting some things into words might make it easier to organize my ideas (and also help other LGs!).

On this post I will focus on a list that I've recently created to value the places that offer vegetarian meals.

Creating the list

As some of you may know, I am a beer lover. I'm always looking for new breweries to try different kinds of beers (especially my favorite type: the red ones!). By visiting many of them, I noticed that it's not very common for these places to have more than one or two vegetarian options, and most times it's just fries or a poor vegetable sandwich. So I decided to value the places that are truly aware of it and offer high quality dishes to eat together with a good beer, by creating a list in Maps: Veggie & beer.

How do I choose what to add?

When I created it, I decided I had to set a few conditions for a place to be on my list, according to what's important for me and what makes a place really worth it:

• More than one option of beer (different brands or brewers)
  • More than one veggie option (not everyone likes the same things)
  • Not just fries, pizza or salad (you could get this almost at any place. I want places with special dishes)
  • Only places where I've been to (so I can add a short comment to describe the food and the beer)

My experience

I have shared this list with some vegetarian friends so they can also read my recommendations and maybe choose where to eat. I have realized that this list is slowly motivating me to visit more places and be aware of their menu even before visiting them (the new menu feature is helping me a lot!).